PDA

View Full Version : Require your Feedback on a Waterfall and Pond Inside a Greenhouse

kingdino
04-07-2008, 05:41 PM
I am a newbie. I am planing to build a waterfall and pond inside a greenhouse. I like to gather input from the people with experience before making a final decision on an indoor setup. I seldom hear nor see this kind of indoor setting. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this kind of indoor setup? Do you prefer an indoor setup or outdoor setup?

In my case, I have a limited space in the backyard (about 16' x 13' garden space). The greenhouse is hexagonal shape with an approximate size of 12.5' x 11'. I have attached one greenhouse picture and one top view of the foundation sketch (illustrating the dimension).

Any feedback is appreciated!

RedManor
04-07-2008, 06:07 PM
Welcome!!! You will get alot of great info on this board.

Please supply some more information on your situation.

Where do you live?
What do you plan on putting in the pond - just plants, or fish too (what kind)

I have only seen indoor/greenhouse ponds at garden centers or the homes of very wealthy people, or park/state run gardens, like botanical gardens, arboretums, etc.

There are a lot of things to consider depending on where you live. It may get way to hot inside a greenhouse to support anything other than plants in the pond.

Send more pictures of your whole backyard, I am sure many people on this site, as well as myself, would find a way to squeeze a pond in between your existing garden and/or sacrifice our plants, or just move them to fit around a pond, LOL

Vicki B.

RedManor
04-07-2008, 06:08 PM
Oh, by the way, your greenshouse is beautiful - I wish I had one in my back yard too!

kingdino
04-07-2008, 06:47 PM
Vicki,

I live in the West Coast - Bellevue, WA. (very close to Seattle). We had a curve retaining wall built recently. The garden area is just top soil (dirt) now. I plan to put water lily in the pond. Gold fish is optional.